Writing & other things – for when I’m not reading

Over the last few years I’ve been on board the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) train. In 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 so far, I have set aside the month of November to engage in the arguably mad practice of attempting to write a 50,000+ words first draft of a novel. Usually I’ve done that “by the seat of my pants.” That is, in NaNo terms, a “pantser,” not a “planner.” This year I am going to try Camp NaNoWriMo for the first time. Camp allows you to set your own goals so I will be trying to reach the far more palatable 20,000+ words mark. I imagine this will eat into my book reading time so for now I am bingeing on books in between old episodes of Community and occasional expeditions outdoors (most recently, the Australian International Air Show, which was AMAZING).

 

Camp-2017-Participant-Facebook-Cover.jpg

Source: Camp NaNoWriMo

 

20170304-DSC_8376.jpg

Royal Australian Navy Squirrel Helicopters performing synchronised flying at the Australian International Air Show, 4 March 2017. My photography – Nikon D90 camera. FLokot.RedBubble.Com.

 

 

My current in-progress reading pile includes It by Stephen King – his books consistently disturb and terrify me, and this is one of the few of his brilliant, genius works that I’ve managed to keep reading. Even if it does horrify me. I also have the novel of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story by Alexander Freed and finally – hooray! – here is a Star Wars novel in the new canon written in a style that I enjoy.

I also have a pile of books set in, and about, 19th Century Eastern Europe, and I am reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets to my youngest child.

I really enjoy sharing my favourite stories with my kids. Since they were very little, I’ve taken them to the public library at least once a week, if not more frequently. It’s interesting watching them grow into readers with their own taste in books, but I can say most gratefully that we share a love of Star Wars, Tolkien, Dinotopia, and JK Rowling stories.

 

