Long Time, No Post

Good intentions to maintain a blog are great and all, but 2017 managed to throw a few spanners in the works and blogging dropped pretty low on the priority list. Never fear, I haven’t forgotten WordPress and my many connections on here!

As of today, 23 August 2017, my list of books I read in their entirety stands at 44 completed books.*

I am well ahead of any reasonably expected amount of texts I could’ve imagined reading, but here we are (and rapidly approaching the end of The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien as I speak).

I haven’t managed to write detailed reviews of every book thus far, but I will update the list soon enough.

In other news, I’ve competed in my first Camp NaNoWriMo this year. I didn’t meet my intended word counts, but I did manage to come up with the beginnings of what I hope will be my magnum opus. At first envisioned as a lengthy fantasy series à la Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings or Narnia, it seems to be evolving into a lengthy comic book / graphic novel. It will likely take me years to write and illustrate. I am in the script development and world building phase, with no certainty at all that this project will fly. It’s in a fragile embryonic stage of development, where it needs to be nursed along gently and kindly lest the muse flee in terror. I am very excited about the story so far and getting to know the characters. It also means pushing my art skills further than I’ve pushed them before.

I have memories of being maybe 10 or 11 years old, telling my school teachers that one day I would write a comic book series along the lines of Footrot Flats. When I was 16-17 years old, my major end of high school project was a comic book telling the adventures of a multicultural riot grrrl band and their rivals across a series of increasingly absurd live concert scenarios, and a Christian rock-pop band with a singer who looked suspiciously like Jesus. (A reflection of my Catholic school girl humour at the time, I guess.) While I hadn’t thought about comics for some time, I found myself reading a few that I loved recently, poring over the details in the art and the storytelling (my current favourite is Stand Still Stay Silent, and for which I do not have the words to describe how much I love it). The stories I want to write usually sit in a crossroads between fantasy, sci fi, and horror, but often I feel that my words don’t do justice to the great landscapes and characters in my mind. At the same time, my day job is as an artist, and I would like to think I’m half-decent at drawing. Considering my early history of wanting to write a comic, or be a maker of cartoon films along the lines of those fantastic Don Bluth films I grew up on in the 1980s, I think that I best honour the kind of storytelling I have always dreamed about by working towards an epic comic fantasy story inspired by the mythologies of my Celtic and Norse ancestors, while interwoven with the beautiful Australian landscapes all around me.

Anyway, I am just thinking aloud (typing aloud?) for now and hopefully I’m not just biting off more than I can chew. It is a long term project that will take considerable time and effort.

I will update my 2017 book reading challenge list in the near future, as soon as I get a chance to do so!

*One of these books I read twice but I figure it still counts. My project, my rules, right?

One thought on “Long Time, No Post

Comments are closed.